Bittersweets

Bittersweet Chocolate, you know, it’s that chocolate used for baking. As a kid, your mom would be making something in the kitchen with the opened foil and paper wrappers of the bittersweet chocolate squares lying on the counter and you’d be all sly and snag a piece. Almost as soon as you put it in your mouth, your face squinches up and you’re left with a thick, almost tangy, half sweet-half sour flavor in your mouth.

Maybe it’s exactly that reaction I am channeling when I experience a bittersweet life experience. ThoseĀ events that are happy, yet sad-all at the same time. An internal emotional conflict that rolls through you where your head and your heart are torn apart. Typically, my bittersweet moments are at the end of one thing and the beginning of another. Relationships, jobs, friendships, whatever.

I’ve got a bittersweet event right now. So many happy things surround my heart and I have a huge loyalty thing goin’ on over here. However, my head is on a mission, pulling my heart along like a impatient mother pulling her little kiddo from the playground. I hear my inner voice telling me “this is best”, or “it’s time”. But my heart is stubborn. I imagine that I’m tasting the chocolate just now. My face hasn’t fully turned sour over it, yet. I’m still trying to convince myself it’s the most delicious milk chocolate ever.

Alas, I’m not a glutton for punishment. I’ll come around. I’ll connect my tastebuds again and realize this ISN’T milk chocolate anymore – it’s semi-sweet – then it’s bittersweet. Not terrible, but not satisfying. Time to find something else.

When it’s time to align my heart and my head – the universe will deliver the message to me in a peaceful way that illuminates the right decision to make. I’ll be both sad and happy when this happens.

Forrest Gump’s Mamma was right. Life is like a box of chocolates. Just don’t settle for those pieces that taste less than delicious.

Leave a Reply

